Nobelova nagrada za fiziologiju ili medicinu 2017. PDF Ispis E-mail
Autor Milan Taradi   
Nobel a 17     Danas (2.10.) je Karolinska Institut iz Stockholma objavila ovogodišnje dobitnike Nobelove nagrade za fiziologiju ili medicinu.
    The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2017 to Jeffrey C. Hall, Michael Rosbash and Michael W. Young. The Prize in Physiology or Medicine has been awarded "for their discoveries of molecular mechanisms controlling the circadian rhythm".
    Life on Earth is adapted to the rotation of our planet. For many years we have known that living organisms, including humans, have an internal, biological clock that helps them anticipate and adapt to the regular rhythm of the day. But how does this clock actually work? Jeffrey C. Hall, Michael Rosbash and Michael W. Young were able to peek inside our biological clock and elucidate its inner workings. Their discoveries explain how plants, animals and humans adapt their biological rhythm so that it is synchronized with the Earth's revolutions.
     Using fruit flies as a model organism, this year's Nobel laureates isolated a gene that controls the normal daily biological rhythm. They showed that this gene encodes a protein that accumulates in the cell during the night, and is then degraded during the day. Subsequently, they identified additional protein components of this machinery, exposing the mechanism governing the self-sustaining clockwork inside the cell. We now recognize that biological clocks function by the same principles in cells of other multicellular organisms, including humans.
    Više na izvornom web sjedištu -->

Samo registrirani korisnici mogu pisati komentare :-(